Plastic is Not the Enemy!

Contrary to popular belief, not all plastics are dangerous. Plastics are typically classified by a number from #1 to #7, each number representing a different type of resin. That number is usually imprinted on the bottom of the container, usually inside a triangle or recycling symbol. Here's a quick breakdown of plastic resin types:

#1 polyethylene terephthalate (PET or PETE)

#2 high density polyethylene (HDPE)

#3 polyvinyl chloride (V or PVC)

#4 low density polyethylene (LDPE)

#5 polypropylene (PP)

#6 polystyrene (PS)

#7 other (misc.; usually polycarbonate, or PC, but also polylactide, or PLA, plastics made from renewable resources)

Source: National Geographic Society: Green Guide